Getting Selected for GSOC'22

Photo by Ilya Pavlov on Unsplash

Getting Selected for GSOC'22

Excited to spend the summer with LibreHealth

ยท

2 min read

It was a regular Friday evening. My last End Semester Exam had been completed just the other day and there was a load of impending practical exams and final year project submissions. While in this pandemonium, there was a burst of joy when I realized I had been selected as a contributor for the Google Summer of Code, 2022 ๐ŸŽ‰.

GSoC - Vertical Wide - Gray Text - White BG.pnglogo.png

On seeing this news, I had a sudden flashback to the night when I had made up my mind I will make it to GSoC this year. Since February, I had been contributing to the previous Flutter projects under LibreHealth made by the previous contributor. As soon as a bug was spotted, I started working on it. Since I reside in the India, I even ended up staying up the whole night at times while fixing the bugs ๐Ÿ˜‚. Some projects were announced and I was elated to see a Flutter project among the proposed projects. I have had some experience with Machine Learning in the past, but app development, especially with Flutter, is something I had been doing since my sophomore days. Be it my internships or college projects, Flutter had always been the constant component throughout. Once the organization list was announced by Google on March 7, 2022, brainstorming of ideas began on the LibreHealth forum. I was fortunate to have amazing mentors who took the time to answer our queries. I started writing my draft proposal within a couple of days. However, I fell ill during this time slowing down my momentum ๐Ÿ˜”. To add to the stress my End Semester Exams had started edging closer. With some discipline I was able to divide my time well. I continued with my proposal, at the best pace I could and finished it just 3 days before the deadline ๐Ÿ˜จ. I was fortunate that my mentor could still find the time and suggest me some corrections in my proposal which I carried out immediately. Once the final proposal was submitted, a long period of anxiety commenced. I kept myself busy with fixing some more bugs in the existing codebase and brainstorming for more efficient ideas, along with my End Semester Exam studies. On the day of result, I was extremely elated and excited for this amazing opportunity. The result and my joy were completely worth the efforts I had put in. I look forward to an amazing summer with LibreHealth ๐Ÿ˜ƒ.

ย